The Polynesian Maori reached New Zealand in about A.D. 800. In 1840, their chieftains entered into a compact with Britain, the Treaty of Waitangi, in which they ceded sovereignty to Queen Victoria while retaining territorial rights. In that same year, the British began the first organized colonial settlement. A series of land wars between 1843 and 1872 ended with the defeat of the native peoples. The British colony of New Zealand became an independent dominion in 1907 and supported the UK militarily in both World Wars. New Zealand's full participation in a number of defense alliances lapsed by the 1980s. In recent years, the government has sought to address longstanding Maori grievances.


Capital City:  Wellington (+12 GMT)
Currency:  New Zealand dollar (convert)
Major Languages:  English
Calling Code:  64
Voltage:  220V
Primary Religions:  Anglican
New Zealand: Reserve Bank of New Zealand
The Reserve Bank of New Zealand is responsible for maintaining a sound financial structure and commercial banking system. This site provides quick statistics, economic research, and information on other RBNZ endeavors.
New Zealand: New Zealand Government Web Pages
The New Zealand Government Web Server provides information on government departments and Parliamentary documents. The main focus is to act as a gateway to various departments, yet incorporates information on current affairs as well. Site available in English and Maori.
New Zealand: Statistics New Zealand
From the New Zealand government, vital statistics including economic and trade statistics.

CIA World Factbook (September 2008)
U.S. Dept. of State Country Background Notes (May 2008)


online ödeme    
Copyright by the Tuncluer © 2008    Designed by T.T.I.